The Cooking Runner

A little Pinot, A little Christmas music, yeah I am THAT girl…

on October 29, 2012

So the day was uneventful until grocery shopping. A great big THANK YOU to the lady in the Lexus SUV that cut me off to get a close spot… YOU ROCK!!!  An especially big “YOU ROCK” because you were in front of me in the check out lane carrying your Fabulous Coach purse and your kid was wearing designer duds, but you paid with your WIC card (for those of you who are not in Michigan, that is food stamps)… WTH???

On the bright side I have to give a serious “YOU ROCK” to the check out girl at the grocery store. I was buying wine to cook dinner and my driver’s license fell out of my purse. So when the time came and she said “Can I see your ID” I gladly…oh damn I don’t have it. She said “I can’t sell this to you” I said, “Do I really look like I am under 21?” The wonderful, classy, super awesome check out girl said, “No you don’t look 40… I can’t sell to anyone under 40 without an ID.” THANK YOU CHICA!!!!!

SO had to stop at the party store on the way home because my driver’s license was sitting on my front seat.

Dinner tonight was Curried Venison Pot Pie….so good… and I found a white wine that I actually like!!!! You can substitute beef or lamb for the venison.

Curried Venison Adapted from Food and Wine magazine, (I changed a couple things.)

  1. 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  2. 2 cubed venison
  3. Salt
  4. Freshly ground pepper
  5. 1 medium onion, chopped
  6. 2 teaspoons curry powder
  7. 2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  8. 1 cup dry white wine (I used Pino Grigio)
  9. 1 cup chicken stock
  10. 2 cups peeled butternut squash, cut into 1-inch dice (10 ounces)
  11. 2 cups chopped Tuscan kale
  12. 1 medium carrot, chopped
  13. 2 tablespoons chopped parsley
  14. 1 large egg lightly beaten
  15. Puff Pastry
  1. MAKE THE CURRY In a Dutch oven, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil. Season the venison with salt and pepper and add half to the casserole. Cook over high heat until browned on 2 sides, about 3 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the venison to a bowl; repeat with 1 more tablespoon of oil and the remaining venison. Pour off the oil in the casserole.
  2. Add the remaining 1 tablespoon of oil and the venison to the casserole. Add the onion and cook over moderate heat, stirring, until softened. Add the curry powder and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Stir in the wine until smooth. Add the stock and bring to a boil, stirring, until thickened, 1 minute. Cover and simmer over low heat until the venison is very tender, 1 hour.
  3. Add the squash, kale, and carrot to the casserole and simmer over moderately low heat until the vegetables are tender, 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Stir in the parsley and let cool.
  4. Preheat the oven to 375°. Spoon the curry into a buttered 8-by-11-inch baking dish. Brush the dish rim with beaten egg. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the pastry to a 14-by-12-inch rectangle. Fold the pastry in half, unfold it over the curry, and gently press onto the edge of the dish. Brush with beaten egg; cut 4 small steam vents in the top.
  5. Bake for about 40  minutes or until pastry puff is a warm gold brown. 

The wine I used were

Chatueau Grand Traverse Pinto Grigio

Bogle Vineyards Phantom

While I was cooking… yeah I am that girl who is already listening to Christmas music. Hey, it puts me in a better mood!!! Then my sister told me she is listening to it too… I am not the only one!!!!

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

