The Cooking Runner

YOLO with a little Glühwein

on December 1, 2012

So instead of doing my usual “let’s be all crazy and go to Chicago for the day” like I normally do, I drove to my parents last night and my mom and I hit the town today. $14 Early bird parking …in by 8:00!!!

We started off at Cafe Des Architectes, in the Sofitel. SOOOO good!!! The breakfast started off with french press coffee and a bowl of french pastries,IMG_0316[1] and a little juice shooter of fresh made bananas, papayas, and oranges…yummy. Then the breakfast came…IMG_0315[1]

THEN since we were celebrating my mom’s birthday, a yummy chocolate and gold, yes I said gold, breakfast goody came…IMG_0310[1]IMG_0309[1] There were four pieces, but my mom got so excited she ate one before I could take the picture!!!  After Breakfast we went to the Peninsula Spa. I had read amazing review after review so I thought…why the hell not? YOLO!!!!!!!

So after a fabulous manicure (if you go, ask for Aleks…she did a fabulous job, she is so super sweet too!), strawberry infused water, (heaven!), and ginger tea, we headed to tackle the shopping scene. Some Chanel for the eyes, Tea forte for the well being, and Trader Joe’s for everything else!!! To end the day, we did Christkindle Market…IMG_0314[1]

Yes, I am multi-talented… I can double fist it AND still hold my brat and kraut… HOLLA!!!!!  Then to make it a fabulous day, I found diesel for $3.85IMG_0313[1]

I love you, Meijer gas station.

 

Here is a Gluhwein recipe… It is ok, nothing beats the real thing though!

Glühwein From this website!

  • A 750ml bottle of inexpensive dry red wine (no need to splash out on something expensive, but it should be drinkable. I usually just use whatever red wine is on sale at the supermarket.)
  • 2/3 cup of raw cane sugar or white sugar, or non-artificial sweetener of your choice
  • Juice and peel of one small lemon
  • 2 cardamon pods
  • 4 cloves
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 cinnamon sticks

Put everything in a heavy bottomed pan. Stir to melt the sugar. Heat the mixture over low heat, and leave for about an hour – it should never boil, just sort of seethe.

Serve in small mugs (straining out the peel and spices)

 

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

