The Cooking Runner

I run because I can.

on January 9, 2013

Miles run this month: 16.6 miles

Miles left to reach 2013 goal: 1996.4 miles

Ran 4.11  windy miles in 38.21 minutes, (9:19/mile)  “I hate running in the wind” is  what I was thinking as I was running. All of a sudden the wind stopped and I realized that the trees were blocking the wind for a brief moment and I thought oh I love running without the wind! Once the winds started again, a thought popped into my head, I was reminded of my motivation…138415388516946313_J7LprejA_c

I know of people who would give anything to run, even if it is in 30 mph winds, they would run.

40 years ago, women did not have the same athletic rights we do now. If you are an a female athlete, you know that Title IX is a HUGE DEAL!!! I am a woman athlete, always have been and always will be. I have participated in competitive sports since the age of 4. Figure Skating, Volleyball, Basketball, Softball, Cross Country, and Track to name a few. To celebrate, I am running at least 2 races to honor women and celebrate the 40th anniversary of Title IX.

Gazelle Girl Half Marathon and 5kGGHMlanding_01

Side note***Any and all races I have run sponsored by Gazelle Sports have been nothing short of amazing.

They know what they are doing!

 Chicago Women’s Half Marathon and 5Kwomens-race-page

Sunday June 23, 2013 in Grant Park

Celebrate yourself and your abilities, sign up for a race…even if it is just a 5k fun run, you would not be able to if it wasn’t for Title IX!!!!

I had some bananas laying around that were getting pretty ripe. So I made some bread….YUMMO!!!!

Apple banana pecan bread

3 bananas

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 brown sugar

1 egg

1 cup homemade spiced applesauce

2 cups flour

1tsp baking soda

3/4 cup chopped pecans

Using an electric mixer, beat sugars and bananas until creamy. Add egg and applesauce and beat for about 3 minutes. Slowly add the flower and baking soda. Once all the flour is incorporated, mix in the pecans.IMG_0529[1] Grease a loaf and pour batter in pan. I used a glass pan. I am not a fan of the metal ones. IMG_0530[1]Bake at 350 for an hour to 1:15. Check with a toothpick after an hour.

IMG_0531[1]I like cream cheese on my banana bread. The hubs likes butter. Guess what we are having for dinner!!!!

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

