The Cooking Runner

Let’s get loud

on January 13, 2013

Miles run this month: 29.4 miles

Miles left to reach 2013 goal: 1984.1 miles

 

The wind strikes again! 30 mph on my long run Saturday. I forced myself to go because it was 54* outside in the middle of January… and a little old school J.Lo… “awwwee Let’s get loud, let’s get loud, turn the music up to hear that sound”…. you know the song. 🙂 I ran a 9:42 average mile. Not my greatest by far, and that time is not going to get me the sub two half I am shooting for, but that is what long training runs are for… to build mental stamina and to test the waters to see what works and what doesn’t. I would rather have a horrible training run than a horrible half!

My joints hurt during the last couple miles so an ice bath was in order after my run. Never had done one before so I thought it is as good of time as any! I always thought ice baths were for those runners (high maintenance)… Yeah so I am now one of those runners. WOW… yes I was freezing to the core, but my joints felt so good all day.  There have been so many studies done to test the true effects of ice baths.  Some say it enhances performance both psychologically and physically. I am not sure about the mind games with ice baths, sounds off, but I am certain about the physical effects. For me, the ice kept the inflammation down in my ankles, knees, hips… and that is what matters. I will be doing an ice bath again. http://www.runnersworld.com has some interesting articles on ice baths.

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

