The Cooking Runner

Beaver Creek or Vail?

on February 6, 2013

We skiied both Beaver Creek and Vail, first time at both.

I love love love Beaver Creek. It is compact, great slopes and short lines… and there are outdoor fireplaces with couches at the base of the mountain. K and I skiied some black runs ( I crashed on a black run)  at Beaver Creek, but mainly stuck to blue runs.

IMG_0731     IMG_0686     IMG_0695

The down fall of Beaver Creek? The town is so so.

I love love love Vail Village.

 IMG_0732   IMG_0733

Vail mountain is HUGE. It is a little too big for me. There is over 5,000 acres of ski runs. The hubbers really likes Vail, but he is one of those crazy fast, daring skier, you know the ones that ski the double black diamonds. K and I stayed on the green and blue runs at Vail.  It was also super crowded, so I kinda felt like we spent more time in lines at the lifts than we did actually skiing. On the upside though, you can not beat the views…

IMG_0707IMG_0712IMG_0711

If we could make a resort with Vail Village and Beaver Creek Skiing, it would be golden! The staff at both places were amazing. They are so friendly and helpful on an off the slopes… I know, I know, ATS….they are paid to be friendly. Still, it was nice to have help at every turn.

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

