The Cooking Runner

Some things I learned while on the east side of the state…

on March 13, 2013

Miles run this month: 24.3 miles

Miles left to reach 2013 goal: 1901.3 miles

 

1. I am an official foodie. When I go to a new area, I don’t go to the mall. I get my kicks from all the amazing food stores!  I went to my favorite Trader Joe’s and a new place called Plum Market (similar to Whole Foods, but half the price).

IMG_0920[1]

2. You can sear Ahi Tuna on a hot river rock at our table. Some of the best damn tuna I have ever had! We went to Melange…Very sexy place! We had an adventure finding it, that is for sure!

IMG_0921[1]

 

3. I learned the pork I eat is apparently not as fresh as the stuff at The Eastern Market… Oinking on Thursday, Hangs on Friday, Sold on Saturday.

IMG_0864[1]

 

4. When you order vegetables and hummus from the best middle eastern restaurant in Detroit, Beirut , and it costs $10, it is not the reason that you are in the city that makes it so expensive. You actually get $10 worth of veggies and hummus…side note: do not order a chicken shwarma sandwich  a Lamb Kafta sandwich, and an order of grape leaves on top of the veggies with hummus just for two people…holy food  Batman!

IMG_0865[1]

 

5. Wine tastes just as good in plastic hotel cups as it does in fancy crystal.

IMG_0884[1]

 

6. Finally, Something I knew all along, but was reminded of it that weekend…  What great amazing friends we have. We attended a Bar Mitvah of a friend’s son. All the men, no matter what religious preference, had to wear a kippa.  It was so refreshing to have some culture and diversity. The hubs has known his BFF’s since childhood… It was kinda like our wedding party revisited. Amazing food, great friends, and a lot of Mazel Tov!

IMG_0875[1] IMG_0876[1]

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

