The Cooking Runner

Beginning running…Shoes

on March 15, 2013

Miles run this month: 32.4 miles

Miles left to reach 2013 goal: 1893.2 miles

A good friend of mine asked me how she should go about starting to run, I have also gotten questions before about which training programs I use as well …Well….

I have been running since I was in high school. My dad is a runner and so is my sister. My dad is the first person that told me the general basics of finding a shoe that works for you.

I went to Gazelle Sports in Grand Rapids. (love that place) They are runners, they know what they are talking about when it comes to what kind of shoes and gear you need. If you live in the area, I highly recommend them!!!

There is a lot more that goes into buying a running shoe than picking out cool colors (boo…sad face). You need to answer these questions:

*Shoe fitting professionals can help you answer these questions!

1. Are you a road runner or a trail runner?

2. What is your shoe size? I am a 7.5 but I buy an 8. The extra space saves my toenails and also allows for foot swelling when I run.

3. Are you flat footed, or do you have a high arch?

4. What is your stride?

When you go shopping for shoes, go to a store that knows running. You can take a pair of older shoes in with you. The wear on the soles can provide the shoe person information on your stride.

Check out this web page for an in depth description of shoes… Expert Advice for Running Shoes

The big problem I have is a super narrow heel and a wide foot. No matter which shoe I pick my heel ALWAYS slips. If your heel slips try lacing your shoes like this…

IMG_0929[1]IMG_0931[1]

Super nosey Schnookies

Super nosey Schnookies

Once you have found the shoe that works for you, you can almost always find it at running warehouse for on average $30 cheaper. I also wear Superfeet insoles in my running shoes. I use these:

details

I have osteoarthritis in my hips. These insoles are a life saver. Without them, I have extreme hip and knee pain as well as back pain over 8-9 miles. When I run with them, I can go for a full marathon pain free. They are $$$$ but worth every single penny.

To save money on your running stuff, check out  my little running shoe/apparel secret… www.runningwarehouse.com. Everything on the site is SUPER CHEAP.

*I am not a running sales person, nor am I sponsored by any of the companies listed above. I am also not a medical professional . All information provided is from my own personal experiences and is my own opinion. 

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

