The Cooking Runner

Beginning Running…The Gear (and the best margarita recipe E-V-A!)

on March 18, 2013

Miles run this month: 41.7 miles

Miles left to reach 2013 goal: 1883.84 miles

Did my long run on Saturday so I could do Mexican night with the husby and our awesome amazing friends. It was cold, snowy and icy…but…all the ice slowed the cars way down. AND they actually took caution at all the runners out. I have never seen so many runners on a winter morning!!! Mexican night consisted of beef and chicken tacos, guac, homemade corn bread, and very berry, very yummy margaritas.IMG_0947[1]

Very Berry Margarita (modified this recipe from Epicurious)

  • 1pint baskets blackberries
  • 1-pint basket raspberries
  • 1/2-pint baskets strawberries
  • 1/2 pint blueberries
  • 1/8 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 cup sugar… then add to taste
  • 1/2 cups tequila
  • 1/4 cup triple sec…if you want to be all fanc- shmancy you can use Grand Marnier
  • 5 cups ice

Combine all the fruit into a blender and puree it until smooth. Add lime juice and sugar. Add the tequila and triple sec. Blend to mix. Add more sugar if needed. Using a strainer, pour the mixer through to remove the seeds. I did not do that, but HIGHLY recommend it! Once you strain it, pour the mixture in a gallon bag and freeze overnight. When you are ready to drink it, add 4 cups ice and the margarita in a blender and blend it up! Pour into glasses and enjoy! Makes 4

Ok so now we got the important stuff out of the way… on to gear…which is important too! If your are just starting out and unsure if running is for you, I would not invest in all the gear. But if you know running is your game, I can not live without this stuff.

IMG_0950[1]

1.) A water bottle- I really like Nathan Quickdraw Plus bottle…I got mine at TJ Maxx for $10.

2.) Ear buds that actually don’t fall out… I use YURbuds…just make sure you get the right size! I use the Ironman inspire series.

3.) Two words… BODY GLIDE. This anti-chaff is a lifesaver. No matter how skinny or heavy you are, you will chaff. Whether it is from a band on your clothing or thighs rubbing together (common  on runs over 8 miles for me) Body Glide saves me from a lot of pain.

4.) An iphone/ipod pouch- You don’t want to have to carry your music! I have two. On longer runs I wear my arm band case. On shorter runs I put my iphone in my SpiBelt AND IT IS MADE IN THE USA!!!!

5.) RoadID bracelet- So this may not be an important part of training gear for most, but if you have a health condition, I highly recommend it.

6.)There is nothing worse than hair sticking to your face when you sweat. My hair is so silky, the head bands do not stay in they slide right off. I tried the Bang Buster from Lululemon. It works!  It is super wide and it slightly covers your ears. Which helps keep your ear buds in!

7.) Lastly, I didn’t have a picture, for obvious reasons… A really good sports bra. Running takes it’s toll, you don’t want them saggy baggy down to your knees before you hit 50! If you want a good sports bra, you are going to pay for it, especially if you are busty. I really like the Tata Tamer from Lululemon and the 7 Wonders Bra from Title Nine.

*I am not a running sales person, nor am I sponsored by any of the companies listed above. I am also not a medical professional . All information provided is from my own personal experiences and is my own opinion. 

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

