The Cooking Runner

Beginning running…Sometimes it just tastes so good…

on March 21, 2013

MILES RUN THIS MONTH: 47.09 MILES

MILES LEFT TO REACH 2013 GOAL: 1878.45 MILES

…A grilled cheese and good cheap wine.

IMG_0941[1]

There are some runners that swear by a specific diet. I, on the other hand, eat pretty much whatever the hell I want to. This is, after all, one of the main reasons I run… I.LOVE.FOOD.

The only restriction I do have to follow, is my dairy restriction. I have it down to the hours. 96 hours before and 4-6 hours after,  anything longer than an 8 miles run…NO DAIRY. My belly can not handle it. I get so sick. Fried, greasy foods are out pretty much anytime. They make me sick whenever I eat them, running or not!

Since I started my training season, I have been eating a little more than usual. my day starts off like this

IMG_0964

I do not eat this healthy everyday. I can’t. I am a potato and cheese girl. I also LOVE chocolate. The day of my long run and the day after, I eat my potatoes and cheese… and whatever else I want. Ice cream has a special place in my heart. 🙂 Then, the rest of the week it is back to business. I do not count calories, but I am conscious of what is going in my body.  If I go out for breakfast, I eat salads the rest of the day. If I am going out for dinner, I will eat a lot of veggies all day to save my calories for the dinner out. If I want dessert, I won’t have the pre-dinner bread…etc.  I eat ALL DAY though.  I also make sure I drink lots of water. My runs are severely affected if I do not drink enough water the day before.

*I am not a medical professional and do not claim to be. These are my opinions only. Please contact your doctor before starting any diet or exercise program. 

Leave a Reply

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

